Past Students

Name Degree Supervised Current Employment Thesis Title Email
Adkison, Milo Ph.D., Fisheries Associate Professor of Fisheries, School of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences, University of Alaska, Fairbanks Application of mathematical modeling to problems in salmon biology and management, UW Thesis no. 42293, 1994 mdadkison@alaska.edu
Branch, Trevor Ph.D., School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences Assistant Professor School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences, University of Washington The Influence of individual transferable quotas on discarding and fishing behavior in multispecies fisheries, UW Thesis no. 54308, 2004 tbranch@uw.edu
Chasco, Brandon M.Sc., School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences Research Scientist,  Nez Perce  Indian Tribe Estimating stock abundance and migration timing in a mixed-stock fishery for sockeye salmon (Oncorhynchus nerka) in Chignik, Alaska, UW Thesis no. 53564, 2004 brandon.chasco@gmail.com
Cooper, Andy Ph.D., QERM, University of Washington Associate Professor, Resouorce Management Science, Simon Fraser University The development and application of simulation models to aid in wildlife management decision-making, UW Thesis no. 49858, 2000 andrew_cooper@sfu.ca
Dougherty, Dawn M.S.  Quantitative Ecology and Resource Management Researcher, Sustainable Fisheries Group, University of California Santa Barbara The effects of management scale: a simulation study for U.S. Pacific
Coast groundfish, UW Thesis no. 60179, 2009
dtdoug@gmail.com
English, Karl M.Sc., University of British Columbia Vice-President, LGL Limited, Sydney, BC Growth and feeding of juvenile chinook salmon, Oncorhynchus tshawytscha, in “in situ” enclosures, UBC Libraries call no. LE3.B7 1982 A67 E63 kenglish@lgl.com
Ernst, Billy Ph.D., School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences Assistant Professor Department of Oceanography, University of Concepcion, Chile An investigation on length-based models used in quantitative population modeling, 2002 biernst@udec.cl
Feist, Blake Ph.D., School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences Spatial Ecologist, Northwest Fisheries Science Center A spatio-temporal analysis of the environmental and climatic factors controlling the expansion of Spartina alterniflora in Willapa Bay, Washington, UW Thesis no. 48230, 1999 Blake.Feist@noaa.gov
Flynn, Lucy M.Sc., School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences Research Biologist, Wild Salmon Center, Portland Oregon Quantification and prediction of Bristol Bay sockeye salmon (O. nerka) run timing, 2005 lucy.sue.flynn@gmail.com
Gutierrez, Nicolas Ph.D., School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences Research Scientist,  Marine Stewardship Council, London UK Managing Invertebrate Fisheries: Biology, Spatial Structure and Community-based Governance nicolas.gutierrez@msc.org
Haist, Vivian M.Sc., School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences Stock assessment consultant, Nanaimo, B.C., and Wellington, New Zealand Evaluation of a management procedure for New Zealand hoki fisheries, UW Thesis no. 51441, 2002 haistv@shaw.ca
Hall, Don Ph.D., Zoology, University of British Columbia Fisheries Manager, Nuu-chah-nulth Tribal Council, British Columbia Growth, fecundity, and recruitment responses of stunted brook trout populations to density reduction, UBC Libraries call no. LE3.B7 1991 A1 H35, 1991 dhall@nuuchahnulth.org
Hanson, Brad Ph.D., School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences Team Lead, Marine Mammal and Seabird Ecology, Northwest Fisheries Science Center, National Marine Fisheries Service An evaluation of the relationship between small cetacean tag design and attachment durations: a bioengineering approach, UW Thesis no. 50382, 2001 brad.hanson@noaa.gov
Hendrix, Noble Ph.D., School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences Independent Consultant, Seattle Washington Crayfish (Procambarus spp.) response to hydrologic restoration of the Florida Everglades, UW Thesis no. 52898, 2003 noblehendrix@gmail.com
Hererra, Guillermo M.Sc., QERM Associate Professor of Economics, Bowdoin College  Effort allocation in a patchy fishery : a role for the central planner gherrera@bowdoin.edu
Hyun, Saang-Yoon Ph.D., Quantitative Ecology and Resource Management Assistant Professor, UMASS Dartmouth Inseason forecasts of sockeye salmon returns to the Bristol Bay districts of Alaska, UW Thesis no. 51468, 2002 shyun@umassd.edu
Lando, Jody M.Sc., QERM/Ph.D., School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences Quantitative Ecologist, Stillwater Sciences Parameter Uncertainty in Streamside Modeling, UW Thesis no. 54419, 2004
Incorporating Uncertainty Into Freshwater Habitat Restoration, UW Thesis no. 3151629, 2004
blando@stillwatersci.com
Lapointe, Mike M.Sc., Zoology, University of British Columbia Chief Biologist, Pacific Salmon Commission, Pacific Salmon Commission Numerical and functional responses of British Columbia trawlers, UBC Libraries call no. LE3.B7 1989 A67 L36, 1989 lapointe@psc.org
Liermann, Martin Ph.D., Quantitative Ecology and Resource Management Statistician/Fish Biologist, Northwest Fisheries Science Center, National Marine Fisheries Service Depensation: evidence and implications, UW Thesis no. 48928, 1999 Martin.Liermann@noaa.gov
Magnusson, Arni M.S., School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences Senior Scientist, Marine Research Institute, Iceland Survival rates of coho (Oncorhynchus kisutch) and chinook salmon (O. tshawytscha) released from hatcheries on the U.S. and Canadian Pacific coast 1972–1998, with respect to climate and habitat effects, UW Thesis no. 51263, 2002 arnima@hafro.is
Maunder, Mark Ph.D., School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences Head of the Stock Assessment Program at the Inter-American  Tropical Tuna Commission, co-founder and President of the ADMB Foundation, Founder of Quantitative Resource Assessment LLC, co-founder of the Center for the Advancement of Population Assessment Integration of tagging and population dynamics models in fisheries stock assessment, UW Thesis no. 47853, 1998 mmaunder@iattc.org
McGilliard, Carey Ph.D., School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences Post-doctoral researcher, Alaska Fisheries Science Center, National Marine Fisheries Service The effects of management scale: A simulation study for U.S. Pacific coast groundfish careymcg@uw.edu
Millington, Peter M.Sc., Zoology, University of British Columbia Chief Executive Officer of the Western Australian Government statutory authority, ChemCentre The fishermen as predator: numerical responses of British Columbia gillnet fishermen to salmon abundance, UBC Libraries call no. LE3.B7 1984 A67 M55
Minte-Vera, Carolina Ph.D., School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences Assistant Professor Quantitative Ecology, Universidade Estadual de Maringá, Brazil Meta-analysis of density-dependent somatic growth, UW Thesis no. 54450, 2004 cminte@nupelia.uem.br
Ortiz, Ivonne M.Sc., School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences Post-doctoral researcher, Alaska Fisheries Science Center, National Marine Fisheries Service Impacts of fishing and habitat alteration on the population dynamics of the vaquita, (Phocoena sinus), UW Thesis no. 51578, 2002 ivonne.ortiz@noaaa.gov
Pascual, Miguel Ph.D., School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences Research Scientist, Patagonian National Research Center, Argentina The estimation of salmon population parameters from coded wire tag data, UW Thesis no. 41996, 1989 pascual@cenpat.edu.ar
Read, Lorraine M.S., Quantitative Ecology and Resource Management Statistical Consultant A Bayesian analysis of management strategies for the wild Snake River fall chinook, UW Thesis no. 44478, 1996 lorraine@terrastatconsulting.com
Sethi,  Suresh Ph.D., School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences Biometrician, US Fish and Wildlife Service, Anchorage, AK. Fisheries Management with People in Mind: Assessing and Managing Risk, UW Thesis no. 61589, 2010. sasethi@gmail.com
Sharma, Rishi M.S., Quantitative Ecology and Resource Management Research Scientist, Indian Ocean Tuna Commission Influence of habitat on smolt production in coho salmon (Oncorhynchus kisutch) in fourteen western Washington streams, UW Thesis no. 47014, 1998 rishi.sharma@iotc.org
Simmons, Ryan M.Sc., School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences Fishery Biologists, West Fork Environmental Associates The stock-specific patterns of rearing by juvenile sockeye salmon (Oncorhynchus nerka) under a changing
landscape in the Chignik Lake system, Alaska
ryan@westforkenv.com
Stewart, Ian Ph.D., School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences Research Scientist, International Pacific Halibut commission Stock assessment with an evaluation of structural uncertainty, and model performance applied to English sole, UW Thesis no. 56213, 2006 ian@iphc.int
Valero, Juan Ph.D., School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences Spatial dynamics, recruitment trends and sustainability of Pacific NW geoduck clams (Panopea generosa). juan_luis_valero@hotmail.com
von Bockelmann, Claribel Ph.D., School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences System Analytiker, MGI Metro Group Information Technology GmbH, Dusseldorf, Germany Spatial and temporal factors affecting survival of hatchery-reared chinook, coho and steelhead in the Pacific Northwest, UW Thesis no. 44104, 1995 C.vonbockelmann@mgi.de
Ward, Eric Ph.D., School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences Post-doctoral researcher, Northwest Fisheries Science Center, National Marine Fisheries Service Incorporating model selection and decision analysis into population dynamics modeling Eric.Ward@noaa.gov
Warner, Eric M.S., School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences Fisheries Biologist, Muckleshoot Indian Tribe The horizontal and vertical movement patterns of rainbow trout (Oncorhynchus mykiss) in Lake Washington, UW Thesis no. 38354, 1990 chumski@eskimo.com
Westley, Peter M.S., School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences Post Doctoral Fellow, University of Washington Biocomplexity and rapid natural habitat change in the Chignik Lake system, Alaska westleypeter@gmail.com